top of page

Upcycled Playsuit with Free PDF Pattern

Updated: Apr 20, 2019


Upcycle project: from charity shop to catwalk

Hello 👋 ,

With Easter and spring around the corner, I feel like sewing little summery outfits again :)

However, I was a bit broke and I didn't want to spend a tenner on a pattern, plus another tenner per metre for some fabric. So I've put my thinking cap on and headed to Pinterest, where I eventually found this post https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/395824254747141573/

I really loved the little pleated playsuit, and I thought it'ld be a lovely project for my little girl :)

And then, in the charity shop, I've seen this old top : it will be perfect for the playsuit!


So, what I've done is, very simply:

I've printed my pattern, and placed them on the top until it all fitted nicely. I used some black interlock fabric for the facings, pockets and straps, because there wouldn't be enough fabric for the whole playsuit so I chose to prioritise the bodice and shorts. You can also ditch the cuffs if you're using a stretch fabric like I did.

I know the pattern is for woven fabric, but it works equally well with stretchy fabric. I've made sure I respected the grainline, though!

The pattern was easy to follow (get it free here https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/395824254747141608/ ) but I did struggle for the cuffs, especially because my fabric was quite stretchy and the cuffs where twisting on themselves, urgh it was a nightmare to sew! If you're a beginner using stretch fabric, maybe you want to skip the cuffs bit and simply hem your shorts with a single fold hem :)

lovely upcycled playsuit :)

I really like the pocket details, I love that you can see the contrast fabric and I think it gives it a very nice finishing touch

But most importantly, our Alice LOVES her sparkly playsuit! She loves sparkles and stars, so she's extremely excited about this playsuit, she says she can run very fast and jump very high with it, what more do you want ;)

such a proud smile :)

I hope you will enjoy making this as much as I did, and until next time, have a lovely time sew easy peasy!

Let me know how lovely your playsuit looks by folllowing @seweasypeasy on IG and Twitter with #SewEasyPeasyTutorials or on Facebook @seweasypeasyblog

I can't wait to see your gorgeous creations!

Happy sewing,

Claire xx

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page