top of page

#MakeOfTheMonth: my circles dress

Hi guys! I have found an absolutely mesmerizing fabric with embroidered circles from Minerva Crafts: https://www.minervacrafts.com/shop/fabric/dress-fabrics/mf-s2-1041-m-embroidered-discs-border-crepe-dress-fabric I love how unique it is, and I thought a shift dress would be perfect with it. Let's see what I've done and a few tricks to sewing this fabric!

This fabric is embroidered with a lot of circles, and I treated it like it was sequins. So, to start with, you need to cut your fabric carefully, being careful to avoid cutting any circles. Then, you need to remove any circles that will be in your seam allowance and in your darts, like so:

When you take away the circles, make sure you can save them to sew back on your garment later:

When you sew, you will see that there are places that will need some circles to be sewn back on the dress, like here, at the side seam:

You need to carefully sew them back on, trying to match the previous stitching like so:

Make sure the circles you're using are the same size as the ones near it, and that the spacing is correct.

You want to make your dress looking like you've not done anything special to it, like so:

And this is the back:

And now you have a lovely 60's inspired dress! I have used the Burda pattern 6721 view B without the pockets :

As for the thread, I have used Guterman number 589. The fabric is rust colour.

I hope you will like your garment as much as I do! I love how unique my dress is, and the pattern is perfect for this style! I would recommend using a pretty simple pattern for this fabric, it doesn't like gathering, pleating or any effect of texture.

Please let me know how your make went! Please tag me @seweasypeasy on Instagram and Twitter using #seweasypeasy and #MakeOfTheMonth, I'm also on Facebook @seweasypeasyblog and on Pinterest! Thank you for reading and happy sewing!Claire xx

23 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page