top of page

Make your Own Hangers Covers

Updated: Apr 26, 2019

Hello 👋

Today I wanted to share an idea I had to use as much fabric scraps as possible, while trying to make something nice for my home too.

My hangers are all over the place, it looks really untidy in my wardrobe and finding that one garment can be hard work.

But with that quick and easy trick, it makes it easier to organise your wardrobe, helps reducing waste and gives a really posh touch for a present or just yourself :)

So, to start with, you need just a bit of scrap fabric (I used the excess length of my hem), a coat hanger, a fabric pen and some scissors , to start with, you need just a bit of scrap fabric (I used the excess length of my hem), a coat hanger, a fabric pen and some scissors

Then, very simply, you lay your coat hanger on the wrong side of your fabric and trace around it, making sure you have 3/8" seam allowance. Trace a bit further than the exact middle, you will need that extra fabric to turn in later

Then you have a template. Cut another one with the wrong sides up, then cut 2 with the right side up so you end up with 2 pairs like shown below. Cut a 1 inch wide strip of fabric of about 10 inches long, if like me you only had little bits left cut them 1 inch wide and sew them together

Then take one pair, sew it right side together and leave the long straight edge open (the bit where the middle will meet). I used 1/4 seam allowance.

For the strap, sew it together if needed, then fold it over the long edge to create a tube. I used 1/8 seam allowance.

Notch and clip where needed, press

Then, turn the hangers covers the right way up, and fit it on your coat hanger. Turn the excess fabric in at the middle, we're now going to quickly slip stitch the 2 halves together

Once the slip stitch is done, turn your strap the right side up using a loop turner to help.

If you have never used any, please check out my tutorial here: https://www.seweasypeasy.com/post/how-to-use-a-loop-turner-and-create-spaghetti-straps

Then fit the strap on the metal hook bit of the hanger, slip stitch

Then cut off the excess fabric at the end of the hook, with an extra quarter of an inch to turn the raw edges in. You can secure it in place with a dot of hot glue, but I decided to simply not bother

To finish, turn in the raw edges of what is leftover from the strap at both ends. You should have enough to wrap it around the slip stitch and to tie a little bow for a lovely finish. Ta dah!

Now, you can sit back and hang your newly sewn garment with its matching hanger. What a nice way to reduce waste and use as much fabric as possible, with giving a very elegant touch to your wardrobe and help you finding the garment you're looking for!

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, please let me know how yours went by tagging me on IG and Twitter @seweasypeasy with #SewEasyPeasyTutorials and on Facebook @seweasypeasyblog I can't wait to see your beautiful hangers!

Happy sewing,

Claire xx

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page