top of page

Dressmaker of the year 2019: I'm shortlisted!

Updated: Apr 20, 2019

Hi guys 👋 !

I really hesitated before posting about it, but I'm so thrilled about it that I needed to share! I've been shortlisted for Dressmaker of the Year 2019, in the vintage category! Wow! I never thought this would happen, I was only in it for the 2 free patterns you get simply for entering :) and it was an opportunity to go back to sewing after the birth of my son Louis in November 2018 :)

I had a lot of a lovely sateen cotton fabric, with big roses in panels. I bought online to make a vintage style dress with it, but when I received it the roses were bigger than I thought, so it's been in the stash for a while. Until I found this McCall's pattern for a lovely shirt dress, clearly inspired from an iconic Dior shirt dress.

vintage style shirt dress by McCall's

I thought the dress was absolutely lovely, and that was the opportunity to use this stunning fabric at last! And the *easy* bit did reassure me, I thought it'd be an easy way to make the collar (take the hint: it's not ;) ) plus the Palmer-Pletsch fit makes fitting easier and less daunting for me. So, I went for it!

 

I don't have an overlocker anymore, so I chose to use French seams for a very nice, crisp and clean finish everywhere, except the armholes and pockets were finished using bias binding. I don't know if there's a special trick to sew French seams in curves, but as far as I know you can't do it. If you guys know otherwise, please tell us how in the comments!

I used self-covered buttons, I thought it would be too difficult to try to either match, or get a nice contrast with store bought buttons. I just have been careful to make sure I was getting a bit of fabric that matches (as much as possible) the pattern.

 

For hemming, I chose to use satin bias binding as it is a circle skirt. Though gorgeous, circle skirt are really a pain in the neck when it comes to hemming! Patterns usually tell you to ease the fullness in, but it's really not that easy, quite awkward and never looks quite right in my opinion. I really don't understand why they don't tell us to get some bias tape, it's so easy to get a lovely hem with this method. I love this tutorial : https://littlelizardking.com/blog/2018/9/14/hemming-a-circle-skirt

Also, never forget to let your circle skirt to hang for a minimum of 24 hours (2/3 days is better if you have the time) as your fabric WILL stretch (that's because it's on the bias at some places) you will need to reajust your hem.

I'm typing this on the 9th April 2019, the results will be announced on the 23rd. Eeek! I can't believe I'm really in for the big prize I could really do with this sewing machine and a spa break :D https://www.sewmag.co.uk/dressmakeroftheyear/prizes

Update: the dream carries on... I've been contacted by the Sew Mag team to let me know that my garment will be one of those that will be examined by the judges for the big prize! Read all about it here: https://www.seweasypeasy.com/post/dressmaker-of-the-year-2019-i-m-now-a-finalist

Wish me luck!

Happy sewing,

Claire xx

35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page