top of page

Dressmaker of the Year 2019: I'm now a finalist!

Updated: Apr 20, 2019

Hello,

OMG!!!! I received an email yesterday (Wednesday) telling me that, in the garments they shortlisted, mine has been selected to be shown to the judges of the huge #dressmakeroftheyear competition, where you can win a fantastic Brother ssewing machine, Rose & Hubble fabric, being featured in https://www.sewmag.co.uk/ ... WOW !

They were organising the competition with 5 categories: ready to wear, upcycled, occasion, kids and vintage. I entered a garment in ready to wear and upcycled, but that's the vintage dress that seems to have that extra something!

To be fair, I absolutely adore the fabric, and I can never resist a beautiful vintage dress, especially the 50's (and 50's inspired) I think the style was always so flattering and elegant! I'm so honoured that my dress has made it to the final stage, but now I'm getting extremely nervous, the judges are absolute legends and the idea of such giants will unpick every stitch of my dress is so impressive! I mean have you seen who will judge us this year? https://www.sewmag.co.uk/dressmakeroftheyear/judges

When I'm thinking that 4 years ago, I had never sewn one single stitch in my life, that people have been mocking me for even trying, it gives me the confidence to tell you, my dear reader: believe in your dreams, believe in yourself. Nothing is ever impossible, no matter what some say, the limits and the ability to break them are within you <3

Wish me luck, the results will be announced Tuesday the 23rd on Facebook, you can follow the event here: https://www.facebook.com/events/2199174343473161/

Happy sewing,

Claire xx


62 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page