top of page

#BetterThanOnTheHighStreet: My River Island inspired shirt

Hi guys!

Leopard print is back in fashion for our greatest pleasure, and this is when I spotted this little blouse by River Island. I liked the casual, yet classic feel to it, and I wanted to find an excuse to work on a shirt again, so let's roll!

I used that lovely McCalls pattern, view A

The pattern promises you a shirt in 3 hours of sewing time, but don't be fooled! I don't consider myself a beginner anymore, and it took me a few days to cut the fabric and sew. Darts, back yoke, narrow hem, collar with collar stand, buttonholes and buttons ... There's quite a few bits that can be tricky for a beginner. However, it's really well explained so if you're up for something new, don't hesitate!


I used double georgette fabric and though it's hard work to cut and sew ( see my post : how to tame shifty fabric here https://www.seweasypeasy.com/post/how-to-tame-silky-and-shifty-fabric ) it's also extremely satisfying to wear, especially on those really warm summer days, it feels so nice!

admire my very natural pose ;)

I like how this shirt covers my bum, since I'm not a fashion model, it makes me feel confident that there's no wardrobe accident when dropping my girl off to school!

I used some fabric covered buttons, they are a must have in any haberdashery! They exist in all sizes, metal or plastic, and help you match your fabric or create an interesting contrast, depending how you feel!

I hoped you like this make, please let me know how your shirt went by tagging me @seweasypeasy on Twitter and Instagram using #seweasypeasy #BetterThanOnTheHighStreet , on Pinterest and Facebook @seweasypeasyblog .

Happy sewing,

Claire xx


18 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page